Aacta awards 2020: Cate Blanchett, Hugo Weaving and Ned Kelly gang vie for honours | Tradition

A small handful of movies and TV reveals have dominated the 2020 Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (Aacta) awards, with the native display business set to shut out a havoc-ridden 12 months by celebrating the productions that acquired made earlier than Covid-19 hit.

The approaching-of-age drama Babyteeth, the candy-coloured H is for Happiness, the psychological horror The Invisible Man and the movie adaptation of Peter Carey’s novel True Historical past of the Kelly Gang all make frequent appearances within the movie award classes, alongside the occasional look of the horror Relic and the biopic of the late Helen Reddy, I Am Girl, with which they’re competing for the title of finest movie.

The administrators of all of those movies, apart from Unjoo Moon (I Am Girl), have been nominated for the very best director award.

Sam Neill’s efficiency in rural drama Rams and Hugo Weaving in a contemporary adaptation of Shakespeare’s Measure for Measure seem within the shortlist for finest lead actor, alongside George Mackay (True Historical past of the Kelly Gang), Richard Roxburgh (H is for Happiness) and Toby Wallace (Babyteeth).

Worldwide expertise will get a nod in the very best main actress class, with The Invisible Man’s Elisabeth Moss and zombie comedy Little Monsters’ Lupita Nyong’o nominated alongside Tilda Cobham-Hervey for her portrayal of Helen Reddy, Eliza Scanlen in Babyteeth, and Laura Gordon within the unsettling drama Undertow.

Russell Crowe (True Historical past of the Kelly Gang) and Ben Mendelsohn (Babyteeth) are essentially the most high-profile nominees in the very best supporting actor class, however newcomer Wesley Patten (H is for Happiness), Fayssal Bazzi (Measure for Measure) and Aaron Jeffrey (The Flood) might give them a run for his or her cash.

Daisy Axon and George Shevtsov in the film H is for Happiness

Daisy Axon and George Shevtsov within the movie H is for Happiness. : David Dare Parker

Wayne Blair and Nel Minchin’s movie Firestarter, in regards to the Indigenous dance firm Bangarra, was nominated for finest documentary, alongside Stephen McGregor’s Captain Cook dinner movie Looky Looky Right here Comes Cooky, Liam Firmager’s Susi Q, Catherine Dwyer’s Brazen Hussies, and two movies from Kriv Stenders, Slim & I and Brock: Over the Prime.

Within the TV classes, actors within the refugee drama Stateless, the crime drama Thriller Highway and sci-fi sequence Bloom dominated the performers’ awards classes, with Australian display veterans Cate Blanchett, Jackie Weaver, Bryan Brown and Aaron Pedersen amongst these up for finest lead actor and supporting actor gongs.

The award for finest drama sequence will likely be determined between Thriller Highway, Bloom, Wentworth, The Heights, Halifax: Retribution and Physician Physician.

Stateless, The Gloaming, Hungry Ghosts, Operation Buffalo and The Secrets and techniques She Retains compete for finest telefeature or miniseries.

The lockdown-inspired comedy At House Alone Collectively is likely one of the few nods to the pandemic in the very best comedy sequence class, nominated alongside Black Comedy, The Different Man, Rosehaven and Upright.

The dominance of actuality TV on each streaming providers and free-to-air has seen the style successfully break up over 4 classes, together with finest leisure program, finest factual leisure program, finest way of life program and finest actuality program. Standard industrial reveals together with Lego Masters Australia, Gogglebox, MasterChef and The Block have all been nominated.

A youngsters’s tv awards class that didn’t characteristic the ABC’s worldwide hit Bluey could be unthinkable, and right here the cartoon in regards to the little blue heeler pet and her household is up for finest youngsters’s program, alongside 4 different ABC reveals plus Little J and Large Cuz from NITV.

The nationwide broadcaster is ready to proceed as the primary participant within the youngsters’s tv area with recent cuts to content quotas for the genre.

The Aacta awards ceremony will likely be held, as it’s most years, at The Star on line casino in Sydney, however throughout two sittings on account of diminished capability required to fulfill New South Wales’ Covid-19 restrictions.

See the complete record of awards and nominations on the Aactas website.