Campbell Stewart wins second stage of New Zealand Cycle Traditional in picture end

A photo finish saw omnium elite world champion Campbell Stewart win stage two of the New Zealand Cycle Classic.


A photograph end noticed omnium elite world champion Campbell Stewart win stage two of the New Zealand Cycle Traditional.

Omnium world champion Campbell Stewart has gained stage of two of the New Zealand Cycle Traditional in a dash end.

Racing for the New Zealand nationwide staff, he claimed line honours within the 121km stage that began and completed in Masterton.

Coupland’s Bakeries rider Nick Kergozou fought again from a puncture to say second, whereas Group Bridgeland’s Jensen Plowright was third.

Plowright’s time bonus moved him into the general lead, forward of first stage winner, defending champion Aaron Gate, who’s driving for the Black Spoke Biking Jersey.

READ MORE: Defending champ wins first stage

Stewart mentioned successful the ultimate dash was a terrific reward for a tough day’s racing.

“It was all on for the dash, I used to be type of jostling for place and the staff have been all simply lined up completely in entrance of me to have the ability to launch me onto Jensen’s wheel and we additionally had Nick Kergozou there on the aspect and we type of went for a three-way dash.

“Kergy went left and I went proper and Jensen was within the center. I assume sitting on the wheel and popping out late was the important thing to it at present.”

Stewart added that the margin was very small.

“I prepare with Nick day-after-day out on the highway, within the velodrome so know him fairly effectively so to have the ability to get that lunge and the additional millimetre counts.

A 19-strong breakaway fashioned after 23km, however solely lasted for 7km, whereas a five-rider breakaway started at 49km and opened up a 2min 40 sec lead however was caught with 10km to experience.

The third stage of the Cycle Traditional on Friday is 126.3km lengthy and consists of eight laps of a circuit in Martinborough.

New Zealand Cycle Traditional, stage two

1. Campbell Stewart (NZ Nationwide Group) 2hr 36min 15 sec
2. Nick Kergozou (Couplands Bakery Group) identical time
three. Jensen Plowright (Group Bridgeland) identical time

Classification leaders

Basic: Jensen Plowright
Sprints: Dylan Kennett
Kings of the Mountain: Boris Clarke
Beneath-23: Jensen Plowright

Most aggressive rider: Logan Griffin