EU agrees ‘protected’ journey record, excluding US passengers

Brussels: The European Union has excluded america from its preliminary “protected record” of nations from which the bloc will permit non-essential journey from Wednesday.

The 27-member bloc gave approval on Tuesday to leisure or enterprise journey from 14 international locations past its borders, the Council of the EU, which represents EU governments, mentioned in an announcement.

Workers wearing protective gear disinfect a plane in South Korea early in the coronavirus pandemic.

Staff sporting protecting gear disinfect a aircraft in South Korea early within the coronavirus pandemic.Credit score:AP

The international locations are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

China has additionally been provisionally accredited, though journey would solely open up if Chinese language authorities additionally allowed in EU guests. Reciprocity is a situation of being on the record.