Hickey on Hockey: 2020-21 season might see Habs in an all-Canadian division

Article content material continued

It could be a throwback to the pre-expansion days when the so-called Unique Six groups performed a 70-game schedule that noticed groups face their opponents 14 instances a season. The ensuing rivalries proved the adage that familiarity breeds contempt.

There might be an identical realignment within the U.S., the place there can be three eight-team divisions primarily based on geography. There would a comfy Northeast Division with the three New York groups, Boston, Buffalo, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington.

The 2 Florida groups might be aligned with Carolina, Nashville, Detroit, St. Louis, Columbus and Chicago. And there might a Western Division with the three California franchises, Vegas, Dallas, Arizona, Colorado and Minnesota. These divisions might function a 70-game schedule with groups enjoying one another 10 instances.